Craig Cramer plays Bach

On the historical König organ at Steinfeld Basilika in Germany


The existence of an organ in the Basilica of the Steinfeld Abbey, Eifel, Germany, can be traced back to the 16th century. In 1727, Balthasar König from Münstereifel completed work begun in 1701 by Floris Hoque who built the first large organ in the vault. König installed an organ with 29 stops by reusing existing pipes from 17 original stops. In 1977, due to mechanical malfunctions, the organ could no longer be played. After years of disuse and several alterations, J. Weimbs, organbuilder in Hellentahl was given the task to restore the organ to its original condition, both the key action and sound as it had been in 1727. The organ today is a vivid document for a successful restoration and it enjoys world-wide reputation among organ experts. The organ consists of 35 stops and 1956 pipes and thus the Basilica in Steinfeld houses the largest historical organ preserved in the Rhineland.

Craig Cramer, internationally renowned concert artist and Professor of Organ at the University of Notre Dame in Indiana has been invited to perform on this organ numerous times. On this CD, Dr. Cramer performs some of Bach’s greatest masterpieces for organ.

Click here for ordering instructions
  • Track Listing
  • Reviews
  • Listening Samples

Track Listing

    Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
  1. Präludium and Fugue in C Major BWV 531
  2. Partita diverse sopra Sei gegrüsset, Jesu gütig BWV 768
  3. Trio in d minor BWV 583
  4. Trio in G Major BWV 1027a
  5. Allein Gott in der Höh' sei Ehr' BWV 662 (From the Eighteen Chorales)
  6. Allein Gott in der Höh' sei Ehr' BWV 663 (From the Eighteen Chorales)
  7. Allein Gott in der Höh' sei Ehr' BWV 664 (From the Eighteen Chorales)
  8. Fantasie and Fugue in g minor BWV 542


No review available.

Listening Samples

No listening samples available.

« Return to all available CD's